Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Uganda Volleyball 18-men Squad named: Did Omuriwe get tough calls right?

Newly appointed Uganda men’s national volleyball team head coach Shilla Omuriwe Buyungo has named the squad of 18 players ahead of the upcoming international engagements.

George Aporu Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Nemostars’ powerful attacker George Aporu will captain the team .

Aporu will be deputized by Daudi Okello on the team that also has Dickens Otim (Sport-S), Johnson Rukundo (Sport -S),Jonathan Tumukunde (Nemostars), Gideon Angiro (KCCA), Emman Elanyu (Nemostars), Edulu Okare (OBB) among others.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

When we were discussing as the technical team we had to look at the time that we are given, we are hoping, next week to have boys in camp, the time we will be wth them, we shall try to utilize it well. Once we get in camp, we shall be focusing on the Technical aspects, since we monitored some them in the previous tournament at Ndejje, some players from Nemo Stars had International tournament so we noted their strength and we know where to start from.

Shilla Omurirwe Buyungo, head coach Uganda Volleyball head coach (men)

Shilla Omuriwe Buyungo

The final team of 14 players will be named before the African Volleyball Championship to be held between August and September either in Rwanda or Tunisia.

The African Nations Championship will also act as the qualifying tournament for the 2022 World Championship.

The Summoned players:
Gideon Angiro (KCCA), George Aporu (Nemostars), Brian Atuhaire (Sport-S), Allan Ejiet Olokotum (KAVC), Emma Elanyu (Nemostars), Sam Engwau (VVC), Bernard Malinga (Nemostars), Sharif Nabanji (OBB), Marino Oboke (Sport-S), Moses Odeke (Nemostars), Nathan Okare Edulu (OBB), Daudi Okello, Emmanuel Okia (Ndejje), Smith Okumu (Nemostars), Ivan Ongom, Dickens Otim (Sport-S), Johnson Rukundo (Sport-S), Jonathan Tumukunde (Nemostars)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


Head Coach: Sheila Omuriwe Buyungo

Assistant coach: Luke Eitit

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Consultant Coach: Nason Bwesigye

Manager Men’s Team: Ahmed Kiggundu

Statistician: Chris Womukota

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply




Management of Admin Football Club continues to strengthen their side ahead of the 2021-2022 Eastern regional league. The Tororo based entity has signed holding...


Villa electro Committee headed by Isaac Walukaga have confirmed a one man race ahead of the forthcoming SC Villa elections set to take place...


Former Uganda Cranes captain and goalkeeper, Denis Masinde Onyango played a vital role in ensuring that his club Mamelodi Sundowns clinch their maiden MTN...


*SC Villa 1 – 0 Police FC *Mbarara City FC 2 – 1 Arua Hills. *URA FC 3 – 1 UPDF FC. *Gadaffi FC...




Related Stories