Connect with us


Uganda Hippos emerge as Cecafa Champions



The Uganda Under 20 group made sure about an agreeable 4-1 win over hosts Tanzania at Black Rhino Academy, Karutu to emmerge as 2020 Cecafa U-20 Challenge Cup champions on Wednesday, December 2.

Najib Yiga, Steven Sserwada, Ivan Bogere and Aziz Kayondo scored for Uganda while Abdul Suleiman got Tanzania’s just strike

Hippos head coach Morley Byekwaso maintained his team that dismissed Kenya 3-1 to make the final and he wasn’t let down

Vipers SC forward, Yiga put the Hippos in the driving seat as early as the 12th minute with his curling effort from a free-kick that past Tanzania’s custodian Zuberi Masudi into the back of the net.

The Hippos in the driving seat as right on time as the 12th with his twisting exertion from a free-kick that previous Tanzania’s custodian Zuberi Masudi into the rear of the net.

At half an hour mark, Tanzania’s long spells of possession paid off when Musa Ramathan handled the ball in the forbidden area. Suleiman stepped up to take the penalty and levelled matters for the hosts.

Steven Sserwadda scored the second of the Hippos with a clinical tap in at the near post off Aziz Kayondo’s well-laid cross to take Byekwaso army back into the lead.

Ivan Bogere (right) against Tanzania. TFF

Ivan Bogere got a chance to make it three after the Hippos were awarded a penalty at the stroke of half time but the Proline striker’s effort hit the goal post.

Ivan Bogere eventually got on the scoresheet in the 61st minute after heading in Steven Sserwada’s corner kick, it was his fifth of the championship.

In the 72nd minute, a rather unfamiliar name, Kayondo got on the score sheet in a unique manner.

The roving left back’s effort from his own half got Tanzania’s newly introduced custodian, Razack Shekimweri unaware as the game went beyond reach fro the hosts to chase.

Uganda and Tanzania will represent the CECAFA region at the 2021 AFCON U-20 tournament that will be held in Mauritania next year

How they lined up

Uganda U-20 XI: Jack Komakech (G.K), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (Captain), Aziz Kayondo, Musa Ramathan, Kenneth Semakula, Isma Mugulusi, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Richard Basangwa, Najib Yiga, Ivan Bogere, Steven Sserwadda

Tanzania U-20 XI: Zuberi Masudi (Gk), David Kameta, Khleffin Salum, Samweli Jackson, Frank Kihole, Anuari Jabri, Abdurazak Hamza, Pascal Msindo, Mussa Gadi, Kassim Shabani, Abdul Sulaiman


Most Popular