Connect with us


Uganda Cranes opens up with Cameroon in Pre-mini Chan tournament.



Uganda Cranes contingent that consists of 25 players and 14 officials arrived safely in Cameroon yesterday, 29th December 2020 ahead of the Chan pre-mini tournament that will run from 1st to 7th January 2021.

The Pre-mini Chan tournament is going to consist of four Nations which includes Cameroon as hosts, Niger, Uganda and Zambia.

Uganda Cranes will open up with the hosts Cameroon on eve of New year (1st January 2021) before playing Zambia on 4th and wrapping the tournament with Niger on 7th.

Uganda is in preps for the upcoming Chan 2021 final tournament that kicks start on 16th January and end on 7th February 2021.

Among the last five editions of this tournament which is only eligible for only players playing in their respective domestic leagues, Uganda has qualified in the final last four consecutive tournaments since missing the inaugural tournament that was held in Ivory coast in 2009.

Uganda has failed to make out of the group stages on those four consecutive occasions they have been at the final tournament and Johnathan Mcknistry charges finds an uphill task to climb as they are to negotiate through the group C opponents that consists of defending Champions Morocco, 2016 quarter finalist – Rwanda and debutants – Togo.

All games will take place at Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo in Yaounde, one of the stadium that are going to be used in the final tournament.

Uganda will conduct their first training today at Omnisport Annex at 4:00pm (6pm E.A.T)


Uganda Vs Cameroon – 1st January 2021.
Uganda Vs Zambia – 4th January 2021.
Uganda Vs Niger – 7th January.

The full 39 man contingent which is Cameroon.



Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume FC), Nafian Alionzi (URA FC), Tom Ikara (Police FC)


Eric Ssenjobe (Police FC), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers SC), Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Ashraf Mandela (URA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Musitafa Mujuzi (Kyetume FC), Patrick Mbowa (URA FC), Hassan Muhammad (Police FC)


Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Tony Mawejje (Police FC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants FC)


Ben Ocen (Police FC), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers SC), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Joseph Ssemujju (BUL FC), Joackim Ojera (URA FC), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Stephen Mukwala (URA FC), Mohamed Shaban (Vipers SC)


Hamid Juma- Leader of Delegation

Johnathan McKinstry – Head Coach

Abdallah Mubiru – Assistant Coach

Livingstone Mbabazi – Assistant Coach

Alexander McCarthy – Performance Coach

Sadiq Wassa – Goalkeeper Coach

Felix Ayobo – Sport Scientist

Emmanuel Nakabago –Medical Officer

Dr. Opika Opoka – Doctor

Ahmed Hussein – Media  

Geoffrey Massa – Team Manager

Samuel Hassan Mulondo – Kit Man

Ayub Balyejusa – Kit Man

Paul Mukatabala – Team Co-Ordinator