U20 Afcon Qualifiers: Seven Countries confirm participating in region Qualifiers.

Uganda Hippos players celebrating for one of the goals that were scored during 2021 U20 final tournament in Mauritania.

Central and East Africa Football Associations governing body has confirmed seven countries that will be participating in Qualifiers of Total Energies U20 African Nations Cup for Cecafa region.

Uganda are the defending Champions after winning the previous edition and went along way upto the final before losing to Ghana.

This is the 17th edition of the tournament which will be held in Egypt next year (2023).

Sudan will be the host nation for the cecafa region qualifiers starting from 22nd October untill November 3rd 2022.

Al Hilal stadium and El Obeid stadium are the venues to be used during the Qualifiers games.

The draws will be held on 11th October, Sudan and Uganda shall be seeded in group A and B respectively.

One group will consistute of 4 teams and theother with three teams as top two making it to the semi finals.

According to Cecafa Executive Director, Auka Gecheo confirmed that Rwanda and Somalia asked to be left out.

“Rwanda and Somalia have told us they will not participate, while Eritrea have not communicated and Kenya are still serving a suspension by FIFA,” says Gecheo.

The seven countries that will be participating in the regional Qualifiers includes; Sudan (host), Uganda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Burundi, Ethiopia and Djibouti.

The finalist quallify to play in plaiy in final tournament.

Leave a Reply

Related Posts