Connect with us


London Marathon: Brigid Kosegei defends women race, as Shura Kitata dethrones Eliud Kipchoge.



From left hall, Kosegei and Chepngentich

The 40th Virgin Money London  Marathon took place as rescheduled on 4th October 2020 from 26th April after the outbreak of Covid-19.

This time round it was a race of only elite Atheletes with mass race banned due to the deadly disease, fans were not arrowed in the pavements to cheer up their Atheletes.

For Women race

Kenyan, Brigid Kosegei defended her race with 2:18.58 clocking time, having won the previous London Marathon in 2019.

Sara Hall from United States did beat Kenyan Ruth Chepngentich to a second place with 2:22.4 compared to 2:22.5.

Men’s race.

As the whole world was expecting the four time defending Champions of the race (London ), Eliud Kipchoge  to win the race after Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele pulling out of the race on Friday due to calf injury.

Ethiopian Kitata Shura was thinking otherwise as won the 2020 London Marathon race beating Kenyan Vicent Kipchumba by one second.

Kitata clocked 2:5.41 time compared to Kipchumba’s 2:5.42. and then Sisay Lemma came third with 2:5.45.

Kitata Shura finished second in 2018, fourth in 2019 and first in 2020.

Kipchoge finished in 8th position clocking 2:6:49  and left by winner, 1minute and 8 second. and late by 4 minutes and 12 seconds to his last year’s clocking time and Marathon’s best.

Kipchoge fails to win the Marathon race he has entered in for the first time since Berlin Marathon in 2013 were he finished second.

This is second event Marathon after Tokyo Marathon  that has taken place this year of the six major Marathons.

With Berlin, Chicago, New York and Boston all cancelled due to Covid-19 pandemic.

Most Popular