Connect with us


Denis Onyango and Mamelodi Sundowns start life without Mossimane on losing end.



South African Treble winning Club, Mamelodi Sundowns embarked on life without their most successful coach, Pitso Mossimane as they bow out of the MTN 8 Cup at Quarter Finals at hands of Bloemfontein Celtics (0-1) in the game played on Sunday evening at Lucas Moripe Stadium.

The 69 minutes free kick brought inside the  box by Sifiso Ngobeni caught Sundowns defender flat and Victor Letsoalo’s rebounding header beat scrambling Onyango.

Pitso Mossimane who left the club after eight years of service to go for better pay cheques at Egyptian Premier League giants Al Ahly after claiming treble with Brazilians.

Sundowns’ new Co-coaches Manqoba Mnggithi and Rhulani Mokwena along side senior coach Stephen Komphela were handed the job to  the steer the Masandawana to continued success after Pitso had left.

Sundowns have won titles both local and Continent, but since the MTN started sponsoring the top eight cup ( teams which finish in top 8 of PSL)   in 2008, they have never tested the victory of this title.

Orlando Pirates managed to squeeze a slim win against Cape Town to set  a semi final clash of Soweto derby with Kaizer Chiefs who defeated Maritzburg (2-1).

Bloemfontein Celtics will take on Super Sport United who fought had to eliminate Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila (TTM) (3-2) who bought the stature of Bidvest Wits in the league.

The MTN 8 is contested for clubs that finish in the top eight positions of Premier soccer  League in the previous season and has been played since 1972  and Kaizer Chiefs are record cup holders with 15 cups.

The tournament has changing  names due to sponsorship reasons, from 1972 until 2002, the tournament was known as  BP Top eight cup, between 2003-2007 renamed to SAA Super 8 and from 2008 until now the tournament is called MTN 8.

Super Sport United are the defending Champions and their rivals Sundowns have won it three times (1988, 1990 and 2007).

Most Popular