All 18 confirmed Countries for 2023 African Nations Championship (CHAN).

Following the end of the Qualifiers of the 2023 African Nations Championship over the weekend, all the 18 confirmed Countries that will take part in the final tournament in Algeria have been confirmed.

This will be the seventh edition of tournament which bars players playing their club football outside of the local leagues in respective countries.

Madagascar is the only Country that will be making their debut in upcoming edition, having managed to knocked out Botswana.

Uganda and Democratic Republic of Congo remains the only two Countries that have been to the final tournament for many times (6).

Morocco will be aiming to defend their third straight title, having won the previous two consecutive editions in 2018 and 2020.

CAF has got Sixth zones and each zone has been represented with three Countries.

Algeria didn’t take part in the Qualifiers being the host Country.

Libya and Morocco as well got a bye in the Qualifiers after Tunisia and Egypt decided not to take part in this year’s edition.

The final tournament will kick start on 8th January until 31st January 2023.

All the confirmed 16 Countries includes below.

*East and central Zone – Uganda, Ethiopia and Sudan.

*Southern Zone – Madagascar, Angola and Mozambique

*Central Africa Zone – DR Congo, Congo and Cameroon.

*Western A Zone – Senegal,. Mauritania and Mali

*Western B Zone – Niger, Ghana and Ivory Coast

*North Africa Zone – Morocco, Libya and Algeria (Host).

Leave a Reply

Related Posts