Connect with us


AFCON U20: Andrew Kawooya makes the final squad cut as Byekwaso names Hippos traveling team for Pre-mini tournament.



The Uganda Hippos (U20) head coach, Morley Byekwaso has revealed his final squad for the upcoming Pre-mini tournament as they get prepared for the Total AFCON U20 final tournament in Mauritania.

Andrew Kawooya who missed the CECAFA U20 Championships which were held in Tanzania last year has returned the team’s fold.

And among other returnes includes Sam Senyonjo (KCCA FC), Derrick Kakooza (Police FC), Davis Sekajja (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Andrew Kawooya, (KCCA FC), Goalkeeper Delton Oyo (Busoga United FC) Simon Baligeya (Kibuli SS) and Ivan Eyamu (Mbarara City)

18 players who won the U20 CECAFA Championships have been retained.

A 33 people contingent will depart tomorrow at 8:00 a.m aboard Uganda Airlines for a 3 Nations Pre-mini tournament in Tanzania, starting on 2nd to 9th February, 2021.

Uganda will play Tanzania and Namibia in test matches before flying out to Mauritania on 10th February.

Uganda is pooled in group A alongside hosts (Mauritania), Cameroon and Mozambique.

The final tournament will kickoff on 14th February untill 4th March 2021.

The full list of 25 man squad.


Komakech Jack (18) (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa).


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Abdul Azizi Kayondo (Vipers SC)


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC) Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew (KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).


Richard Ochom – Leader of Delegation

Jackson Nyiima  – Team Manager

Morley Byekwaso – Head Coach

Simeon Masaba – Assistant Head Coach

Yahaya Katumba – Team Doctor

Frank Bumpenje – Equipment officer

Alex Kasirye – Media Officer

James Ayebale – FUFA Delegate

Most Popular