Connect with us


AFCON U17 & U20: Uganda Cubs and Hippos drawn in group B’s.



Uganda National football  under 17 and under 20 teams now know their opponents ahead of the Zonal African Cup of Nations Championships Qualifiers.

The Council for East and Central African Football Association (CECAFA) as the organising body, conducted the draws via Zoom with main ceremony at Nyayo stadium, Kenya.

The U17 Cecafa regional Qualifiers will take place in Rwanda from 13th to 28th December 2020 and Uganda Cubs are the defending Champions.

Uganda 17 is drawn in group B along side Burundi, Eritrea, South Sudan.

For U20, the regional tournament will be hosted in Tanzania from 22nd to 6th December 2020 and Uganda Hippos drawn in group B along side Kenya and Ethiopia.

Since CAF changed  the format of the Under age qualifiers, this will be the first time that U20 teams qualifies to final tournament through their respective regions.

U17 and U20 final tournaments will be held in Morocco and Mauritania respectively.

Full draws.

Under 20.

Group A. Tanzania (host), Rwanda and Somalia.

Group B. Burundi, Eritrea, South Sudan and Uganda.

Group C. Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan.

Under 17.

Group A. Rwanda (host), Eritrea, South Sudan.

Group B. Uganda, Ethiopia, Kenya.

Group C. Sudan, Djbouti, Tanzania.

Tanzania are the defending Champions of CECAFA U20 Championship.


Most Popular