Connect with us


AFCON 2022: Mcknistry reveals 22 man squad for Uganda Cranes local based players ahead of double tie against S.Sudan.



Uganda Cranes tactician, Johnathan Mcknistry has named a 22 man squad for local based players to start preparation for upcoming double tie against Stubborn South Sudan.

Murushid Juuko and Tony Mawejje are among the players who have returned  to Cranes fold after missing a couple of games. With Mawejje last featured for Cranes in 2017 African Cup of Nations.

The named players will undergo  intensive training between 2nd to 8th November 2020 and Mcknistry is expected to pick 5 or 6 players to join the 20 man squad for the foreign based players.

“As previously announced in addition to the squad of 20 foreign based players for the upcoming double header against South Sudan in the A, we would be looking to adding  5 or 6 Uganda Premier League players to the mix so that they can compete for places in the squad. In order to give the local based players the best support, we will be running an advance camp between 2nd and 8th November. In addition to that, we shall be able to have some early arrivals of foreign based players whose leagues to join this camp in Kampala. The camp will also help the local based players to push their levels higher and hopefully get some minutes on the field against South Sudan.” Mcknistry told

Uganda Cranes will host South Sudan on 12th November 2020 and return leg on 16th November 2020.

Uganda is also preparing for the Chan tournament slated to take place next year, January 2021.

The local based Squad

Goalkeepers: Alionzi Nafian (URA FC), Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Mutakubwa Joel (Kyetume FC)

Defenders: Ndahiro Derrick (Sc Villa), Galiwango Disan (Vipers SC), Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Mandela Ashraf (URA), Iguma Denis (KCCA FC), Kato Samuel ( (KCCA FC), Juuko Murushid (Express FC), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC), Mbowa  Patrick ( URA FC)

Midfielders: Mawejje Tony (Police FC), Kyeyune Saidi (URA FC), Kagimu Shafiq (URA FC), Watambala Kairm (Vipers SC), Owori David ( Sc Villa), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC)

Forwards: Oriti Ibrahim (Vipers Sc), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC), Mukwala Stephen (URA FC), Ahebwa Brian (KCCA FC).

Most Popular